Climate and Biomes


There are three major ecosystems that are arrayed from north to south- tundra, taiga, and steppe, as well as transition zones like the Forest-Steppe region.

Tundra: the treeless zone that lies between the ice cap and the timber line of North America and Eurasia and having a permanently frozen subsoil (permafrost)

Taiga: Russian Boreal Forest, largest forest of its kind anywhere in the world

Forest-Steppe: transitional belt that lies between the forest and the southern steppe

Steppe: dry grasslands

Semi-desert: mostly south of Siberia in parts of Central Asian Republics

Climatic Zones

Click on the image below to put it in motion, you will see the monthly temperature map in animation. Use your browsers "back" arrow to return to this page. Click here to go to the Climate Project website.